

WEST BASIN ANNOUNCES 2025 BOARD POSITIONS

Division II Director Gloria Gray to Serve as President

CARSON, Calif. – At the January meeting of the West Basin Municipal Water District (West Basin or District) Board of Directors, the board selected officers for 2025 with a unanimous vote. Division II Director Gloria Gray will serve as President; Division V Director Donald L. Dear as Vice President; Division IV Director Scott Houston as Treasurer; and Division III Director Desi Alvarez as Secretary.

The president facilitates committee appointments and the assignments of representatives to affiliated organizations. It is her primary responsibility to interpret the policies, programs and needs of the District to the public.

"As we navigate the pressing challenges of the state's water supply, including extreme weather conditions due to climate change, I remain committed to upholding the values of innovation, sustainability, and community stewardship," said Gray. "I am honored to serve as the Board President and look forward to leading the District in advancing our vital mission of securing water for tomorrow. Together with my fellow board members, we will continue to ensure our communities have access to safe and reliable water."

Gray was first elected to the West Basin Board of Directors in 2006, and represents the Division II cities of Inglewood, portions of Gardena and Hawthorne and the unincorporated LA County areas of Ladera Heights, View Park-Windsor Hills, West Athens, and Westmont. She has served in many leadership capacities within the water industry, most recently as the immediate past chairwoman of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California (MWD) Board of Directors. She was the first African American and first person of color to lead the MWD board, from January 1, 2019 - December 31, 2022, and the second woman to do so in MWD's 90-year history. She also has served on the board of directors of the Association of California Water Agencies, among many other notable accomplishments and contributions to advancing water sustainability and resource management.

As vice president, Dear – who serves Gardena, Hawthorne, Lawndale and unincorporated Los Angeles County areas of El Camino Village – is responsible for performing all the duties of the president during the temporary or permanent absence of the president.

As treasurer, Houston – who represents Culver City, El Segundo, Malibu, West Hollywood, a portion of Hawthorne, and unincorporated Del Aire, Marina del Rey, Topanga and Wiseburn – is to review the board's financial status and oversee project, reserve and cost of issuance funds.

As secretary, Alvarez – who represents the cities of Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Lomita, as well as West Torrance and West Carson – ensures the maintenance of district records and that public meetings are noticed in accordance with all laws.

For more information on the West Basin board and committees, visit: www.westbasin.org/board-of-directors.

###

West Basin Municipal Water District (West Basin) is a wholesale water agency that serves nearly one million people in 17 cities and unincorporated areas in Los Angeles County. West Basin provides imported drinking water, recycled water, and conservation and education programs. Through its Water for Tomorrow Program, West Basin is committed to protecting, diversifying, and securing our water supply for the future while continuing a history of innovation and industry leadership. Visit www.westbasin.org to learn more.